52nd Annual St. Clair College Athletic Awards Banquet
- Submitted by

Mason MacDonald Male & Female Athlete of the Year (In Honour of Mason MacDonald)

The athlete of the year is awarded to the graduating male and female student-athletes who have displayed outstanding athletic abilities while maintaining exemplary academic performance and school involvement during their years at St. Clair College.  The trophy was donated by and named for Mr. Mason MacDonald, former Athletic Director of the Western Ontario Institute of Technology, the predecessor of St. Clair College.

Female Winner: Julie Ann Milling

• 4th Year Women’s Volleyball
• Graduating from Health & Fitness & Event Management
• Team MVP 2017-18 & 2018-19 
• OCAA West Division Libero 1st Team All Star 2018-19
• 2nd in Entire OCAA with 265 digs 2018-19
• OCAA West Division Libero 2nd Team All Star 2018-19
• Led Entire OCAA with 3.76 digs/set 2017-18
• 2017-18 OCAA Bronze Medalist

Male Winner: Kevin Dion

• 4th Year Men’s Baseball
• Graduating from Advertising & Marketing Communications Mgmt. Program
• 4-time OCAA Medalist (3 Gold, 1 Silver)
• 3-time National Medalist (1 Gold, 2 Silver)
• 2-time OCAA League All-Star (2017 & 2018)
• 2016 National Championship All-Star
• 2017 OCAA Championship All-Star
• 2018 OCAA Player of the Year
• 2017 St. Clair MVP
• 2015 St. Clair Rookie of the Year
• 2018 St. Clair Coaches Award
• All-time OCAA Hits Leader (90 Hits in 71 GP)
• Career 0.373 OCAA Batting Average
• Career 109-26-1 as a Saints Baseball Player

Al Hoffman ‘Athlete of the Year’ for Outstanding Achievement Award

This award recognizes intercollegiate athletes who perform at a high level of athletic excellence combined with sound scholastic achievement; who have excelled in athletic competition at the college, regional, provincial and/or national levels; whose efforts have contributed to the success, competitiveness, enhancement and overall quality of their respective sport.  This award is named after former Athletic Director, Al Hoffman who was inducted into the OCAA, CCAA and Windsor Essex County Sports Hall of Fame.  Starting in 2007, this award recognizes the most outstanding Male and Female Varsity Athletes at St. Clair College from the past season.

Female Winner: Jana Kucera (pictured on left)

• 2nd Year Women’s Basketball
• OCAA League Scoring Champion (21.1 PPG)
• OCAA West Division All-Star (1st Team)
• OCAA Provincial Silver Medal
• OCAA Provincial Championship All-Star
• CCAA National Championship 7th Place
• CCAA National Championship All-Star (2nd Team)
• OCAA All-Academic & St. Clair Academic All-Star
• CCAA Academic All-Canadian
• St. Clair MVP

Male Winner: Tyler Jones (pictured on right)

• 2nd Year Cross Country
• OCAA Team Gold Medal
• OCAA 1st Team All-Star
• CCAA National Gold Medal
• CCAA National Championship 10th Place (All-Canadian Selection)
• St. Clair Academic All-Star

Inter-Collegiate Coach of the Year Award

The Inter-Collegiate Coach of the Year Award is presented to the St. Clair College Varsity Head Coach whose teams exemplify a high level of performance, sportsmanship, dedication and leadership.  This coach will stress the values of athletic participation in an educational setting and will assist in the improvement of athletic skills as well as life skills.  This coach will provide leadership as a role model to their team members and St. Clair College. This award is named after former Hockey Coach, Gerald Serviss who led his teams to three Provincial Championships and one National Championship in 7 seasons.  He was inducted into the OCAA Hall of Fame in 2005.  

Winner: Paul Boots

• 4th Year Cross Country Head Coach
• Undefeated Season for Men’s Team
• OCAA Provincial Men’s Team Gold Medal (1st Since 1990)
• 4th Consecutive National Championship Appearance
• 1st Ever CCAA National Championship Men’s Team Gold Medal

John Albert Strasser Coaches Award

Awarded annually to the Varsity Coach whose team achieves success athletically while making significant contributions to the community.

Winner: Bernie ‘Chico’ LaBute (Posthumous) 

LaBute was a driving force behind the recruitment and on-field instruction allowing St. Clair to win its first National Baseball Championship in 2012.  The continued success over his six years with the Varsity Baseball team led to 6 regular season and Provincial Championships not to mention two OUA/OCAA crowns.  St. Clair’s regular season record during that span was a gaudy 96-12 with an overall 171-31 record.  After a National Silver Medal in 2016 the Saints added another National Championship in 2017.

St. Clair College and the local baseball community lost an important figure this year.  In his honour St. Clair College has established a Scholarship Fund and moving forward the Varsity Men’s Baseball Pitcher of the Year Award will be in Chico’s name.

Exceptional Service Award (In Honour of Jack Costello)

Introduced in 2005-2006, the Exceptional Service Award is presented annually to an individual for his/her outstanding dedication and commitment to the Department of Athletics and Recreation. This award recognizes those who have gone above and beyond his/her regular duties over the past season. This award is named in honour of former hockey coach, Athletic Director, and OCAA Hall of Fame Member Jack Costello.

Winner: Joyce Ouellette

• Served as the Women’s Softball Statistician since 2006
• Provincially rated Statistician who has painstakingly volunteered at every Saints home and away game for the past 12 years
• Valuable asset to the program and the OCAA serving as Provincial & National tournament host statistician

Fair Play & Sportsmanship Award (In Honour of Bob Weepers)

Introduced in 1995-96, this award recognizes student-athletes who reflect the true spirit of sport through their exemplary commitment to sportsmanship, fair play and teamwork.  This award is named in honour of Bob Weepers, long time Athletic Coordinator, for his commitment and contributions to the Athletic Programs of St. Clair College.


(W) Soccer Cassie Nicholas
Cross Country Andre Tomasian

Varsity Team Academic Award (In Honour of Don Hogan)

Established in 2004, this award recognizes St. Clair College Inter-Collegiate Varsity teams for academic achievement.  It is awarded to teams who attain the highest Grade Point Average amongst all team members in the fall semester.  This award is named in honour of Don Hogan who is a former St. Clair College Faculty member and Coordinator of the General Arts and Science program.

  • Women’s Volleyball – Team 3.20 GPA
  • Cross Country – Team 3.20 GPA

Academic All-Canadian Award

The CCAA Academic All-Canadian award is the CCAA’s most prestigious student-athlete honour, epitomizing both organizations’ commitment to academic success and athletic achievement. 


• Korede Adepitan – Men’s Soccer
• Cassie Nicholas – Women’s Soccer
• Jana Kucera – Women’s Basketball
• Julie Ann Milling – Women’s Volleyball

Recent Headlines
(5/21/2020) Women's Softball and Basketball Score Big with Murphy
(5/8/2020) St. Clair College Varsity Produces 4 CCAA Academic All-Canadians
(5/1/2020) Women's Basketball Fashioning Good 2020 Recruiting Class
(4/22/2020) Women's Basketball Add Size with Stoney Creek’s Paolini
(4/22/2020) St. Clair Fratmen Football Unveil New Logo
(4/17/2020) Men's Volleyball Add Three More Recruits
(4/15/2020) Women's Volleyball Add Recruits for Next Season
(4/10/2020) Women's Basketball Excited to Add Whiteye
(4/1/2020) Men's Volleyball Add Top Recruits for 2020-21
(3/30/2020) 47 Saints Named OCAA All-Academics
Go To Archives
February 25, 2020
2020 OCAA Women's Basketball Promo Video
Length: 0:31
April 11, 2019
Saints 2018-19 Season Highlight Video
Length: 5:06







Design, Hosting, Online Registration & Administration Tools By:


Admin Login